Friday Night Skate down Ocean Drive-Great EsSkate 2014
Friday Night Skate down Ocean Drive-Great EsSkate 2014

So it is almost a week since I returned from the sunshine and warmth filled annual inline skating event “The Great EsSkate” in Miami, FL USA.  Considering that it is Valentine’s Day and I am reflecting on all the people and things that I love,  it is a perfect day to also profess my love for this skating event.

IMG_0699
Very Frozen Shores of Lake Erie Euclid, OH

The Great EsSkate has been an early February staple 14 out of the last 15 years. Something for us Northerners to look forward to in hopes of getting out of the frozen tundra that is our reality.  A welcomed reprieve from this year’s “Polar Vortex” winter we are experiencing in the Northeast.  My trip was worth every penny of the astronomical 2 months out flight I purchased for nearly $600 bucks to go from life on Lake Erie (or is it the Moon?) to a few days of life on the Atlantic.

From my sunrise yoga practice on the beach each morning with a group of skaters, to my daily indulgence of cafe con leche, to skating without a care in the world over the Venetian causeway, to meeting up with dear friends for dinner,  or just sitting by the pool soaking up some much needed sun, I truly cherished every moment.   “This is so lovely” was my mantra for the 3 glorious days I spent there.

A poolside view-Richmond Hotel
A poolside view-Richmond Hotel

For me, and probably may others who have attended multiple Great EsSkate events, it’s  a bit of a “Ground Hog Day” experience.  But in a VERY good way.  The amazingly run skates (thank you Event Director Gene Cook and the National Skate Patrol), the sunshine and warmth (thank you South Florida in February), and the familiar faces who share a love for skating, are the constants that keep me coming back year after year for the exact same experience. Nowhere in the world is there an event, at least not to my knowledge, that brings skating, warmth and fun together better than the great EsSkate does.

IMG_2736
Sunny Shores of South Beach, Miami FL

So on this snowy Valentine’s Day in Euclid, OH with a lot of love in my heart, I am feeling very blessed to have had my weekend in Miami, FL.  Thank you to all the wonderful volunteers who keep this event going each year, to that new friends that I met, and to the old ones that agreed to eat Haitian food yet again this year.

Lots of love to all of you who make this event a love of mine and who will keep me coming back next year! 

Taking a snack break during Saturday's 26 mile skate
Taking a snack break during Saturday’s 26 mile skate
Great EsSkate Volunteers at Registration
Great EsSkate Volunteers at Registration
Sunrise Yoga on the Beach
Sunrise Yoga on the Beach
Saturday Morning Group Up Before 26 Mile Skate
Saturday Morning Group Up Before 26 Mile Skate
Artist Tom Cocotos Art Space-Art Center South Florida Lincoln Road
Artist Tom Cocotos Art Space-Art Center South Florida Lincoln Road
Friends Eating Haitian Food at Tap Tap
Dinner with friends at Haitian restaurant Tap Tap